Schedule of Reflections and Readings: January 2016 – May 2016

 

Date Liturgical Date Readings Reflector

Saturday, January 23, 2016

Sunday, January 24, 2016

Third Sunday in Ordinary Time

 

Week of Prayer for Christian Unity

 

 

First Reading:   Nehemiah 8. 2-4a, 5-6, 8-10

Psalm 19

Second Reading:  1 Corinthians 12. 12-30

Gospel Acclamation:  Luke 4. 18-19

Gospel:  Luke 1.1-4; 4.14-21

 

Mike Britton

Saturday, January 30, 2016

Sunday, January, 31, 2016

Fourth Sunday in Ordinary Time

First Reading: Jeremiah 1:4-5, 17-19

Responsorial Psalm: Psalm 71

Second Reading: 1 Corinthians 12:31-13:13

Gospel Acclamation: Luke 4:18-19

Gospel: Luke 4:21-30

John Rietschlin

Saturday, February 6, 2016

Sunday, February 7, 2016

Fifth Sunday in Ordinary Time

First Reading: Isaiah 6:1-2a, 3-8

Responsorial Psalm: Psalm 138

Second Reading: 1 Corinthians 15:1-11

Gospel Acclamation: Matthew 4:19

Gospel: Luke 5:1-11

Fr. Richard Beaudette

Wednesday, February 10, 2016

12:00pm & 7:30pm

Ash Wednesday

First Reading: Joel 2. 12-18

Responsorial Psalm: Psalm 51

Second Reading: 2 Corinthians 5.20 – 6.2

Gospel Acclamation: Psalm 95. 7-8

Gospel: Matthew 6. 1-6, 16-18

Fr. Richard Beaudette

Saturday, February 13, 2016

Sunday, February 14, 2016

First Sunday of Lent

First Reading: Deuteronomy 26. 4-10

Responsorial Psalm: Psalm 91

Second Reading: Romans 10. 8-13

Gospel Acclamation: Matthew 4.4

Gospel: Luke 4. 1-13

Justin Clark  (Guest Reflector)  & Donna Rietschlin

 

Saturday, February 20, 2016

Sunday, February 21, 2016

Second Sunday of Lent

 

(Children’s Liturgy at 9:30am)

First Reading: Genesis 15. 5-12, 17-18

Responsorial Psalm: Psalm 27

Second Reading: Philippians 3. 17 – 4.1

Gospel Acclamation: Luke 9. 35

Gospel: Luke 9. 28b-36

 

5pm & 11:30am:

Bob Part

 

9:30am: Marina Lamont

Saturday, February 27, 2016

Sunday, February 28, 2016

Third Sunday of Lent

First Reading: Exodus 3. 1-8a, 13-15

Responsorial Psalm:  Psalm 103

Second Reading: 1 Corinthians 10. 1-6, 10-12

Gospel Acclamation: Matthew 4. 17

Gospel: Luke 13. 1-9

Ewelina Frackowiak

Saturday, March 5, 2016

Sunday, March 6, 2015

Fourth Sunday of Lent

First Reading: Joshua 5. 9a, 10-12

Responsorial Psalm: Psalm 34

Second Reading: 2 Corinthians 5. 17-21

Gospel Acclamation: Luke 15. 18

Gospel: Luke 15. 1-3, 11-32

Fr. Richard Beaudette

Saturday, March 12, 2016

Sunday, March 13, 2016

Fifth Sunday in Lent

Solidarity Sunday – National Collection for Development and Peace

First Reading: Isaiah 43. 16-21

Responsorial Psalm: Psalm 126

Second Reading: Philippians 3. 8-14

Gospel Acclamation: Joel 2. 12-13

Gospel: John 8. 1-11

Members of St. Joe’s Development and Peace Committee

Saturday, March 19, 2016

Sunday, March 20, 2016

Passion (Palm) Sunday

World day of Youth

 

(Children’s Liturgy at 9:30am)

Opening Gospel: Luke 19. 28-40

First Reading: Isaiah 50. 4-7

Responsorial Psalm: Psalm 22

Second Reading: Philippians 2. 6-11

Gospel Acclamation: Philippians 2. 8-9

Gospel: Luke 22. 14 – 23. 56

Fr. Richard Beaudette

(including 9:30am)

Thursday, March 24, 2016

7:30pm

Holy Thursday

Mass of the Lord’s Supper

First Reading:   Exodus 12. 1-8, 11-14

Responsorial Psalm: Psalm 116

Second Reading:  1 Corinthians 11. 23-26

Gospel Acclamation:  John 13. 34

Gospel:  John 13. 1-15

Fr. Richard Beaudette

Friday, March 25, 2016

3:00pm

Good Friday

Celebration of the Pass of the Lord

First Reading:   Isaiah 52. 13 – 53.12

Responsorial Psalm: Psalm 31

Second Reading:  Hebrews 4. 14-16; 5. 7-9

Gospel Acclamation:  Philippians 2. 8-9

Gospel:  John 18. 1 – 19. 42

 

Fr. Richard Beaudette
Saturday, March 26, 2016

Easter Vigil

Resurrection of the Lord

 

Note: no baptisms or confirmations this year

First Reading:   Genesis 1.1 – 2.2 (Accompanied Version – Genesis Reading for the Great Vigil – Rory Cooney)

Psalm 33

Second Reading:  Genesis 22. 1-18 (long version)

Psalm 16

Third Reading: Exodus 14. 15-31; 15.20, 1

Responsorial Canticle: Exodus 15

Fourth Reading: Isaiah 54. 5- 14

Psalm 30

Fifth Reading: Isaiah 55. 1-11

Responsorial Canticle: Isaiah 12

Sixth Reading: Baruch 3. 9-15, 32 – 4.4

Psalm 19

Seventh Reading: Ezekiel 36. 16-17a, 18-28

Psalm 42; 43

Epistle: Romans 6. 3-11

Solemn Alleluia: Psalm 118

Gospel:  He is Risen Alleluia (sung Gospel)

Fr. Richard Beaudette

Sunday, March 27, 2016

9:30am & 11:30am

Easter Sunday

Resurrection of the Lord

 

First Reading:   Acts 10. 34a, 37-43

Psalm  118

Second Reading:  Colossians 3. 1-4 OR 1 Corinthians 5.6b-8

Gospel Acclamation:  1 Corinthians 5. 7-8

Gospel:  He is Risen Alleluia (sung Gospel)

Fr. Richard Beaudette

Saturday, April 2, 2016

Sunday, April 3, 2016

Second Sunday of Easter

Divine Mercy Sunday

First Reading: Acts 5. 12-16

Responsorial Psalm: Psalm 118

Second Reading:  Revelation 1. 2-11a, 12-13, 17-19

Gospel Acclamation:  John 20. 29

Gospel: John 20. 19-31

 

 

 

Fr. Richard Beaudette

Saturday, April 9, 2016

Sunday, April 10, 2016

Third Sunday of Easter

 

First Reading: Acts 5. 28-32, 40b-41

Responsorial Psalm: Psalm 30

Second Reading: Revelation 5. 11-14

Gospel Acclamation: see Missal

Gospel: John 21. 1-19

John Mark Keyes

Saturday, April 16, 2016

Sunday, April 17, 2016

Fourth Sunday of Easter

World Day of Prayer for Vocations

 

(Children’s Liturgy at 9:30am)

First Reading: Acts 13. 14, 43-52

Responsorial Psalm: Psalm 100

Second Reading: Revelation 7.9, 14b-17

Gospel Acclamation:  John 10. 14

Gospel: John 10. 27-30

5pm & 11:30am:

Marc Caissey

 

9:30am: TBD

Saturday, April 23, 2016

Sunday, April 24, 2016

Fifth Sunday of Easter

First Reading: Acts 14. 21b-27

Responsorial Psalm: Psalm 145

Second Reading: Revelation 21. 1-5a

Gospel Acclamation: John 13. 34

Gospel: John 13. 1, 31-33a, 34-35

Raphael Amato

Saturday, April 30, 2016

Sunday May 1, 2016

Sixth Sunday of Easter

First Reading: Acts 15. 1-2, 22-29

Responsorial Psalm: Psalm 67

Second Reading: Revelation 21. 10-14, 22-23

Gospel Acclamation: John 14. 23

Gospel: John 14. 23-29

Fr. Richard Beaudette

Saturday, May 7, 2016

Sunday, May 8, 2016

Ascension of the Lord

World communications Day

First Reading: Acts 1. 1-11

Responsorial Psalm: Psalm 47

Second Reading: Ephesians 1. 17-23

Gospel Acclamation: Matthew 28. 19, 20

Gospel: Luke 24. 46-53

Eleanor Rabnett

Saturday, May 14, 2016

Sunday, May 15, 2016

Pentecost Sunday

 

(Children’s Liturgy at 9:30am)

First Reading: Acts 2. 1-11

Responsorial Psalm: Psalm 104

Second Reading: 1 Corinthians 12. 3b-7, 12-13 OR Romans 8. 8-17

Gospel Acclamation: see Missal

Gospel: John 20. 19-23 OR John 14. 15-16, 23b-26

 

 

 

Fr. Richard Beaudette

(including 9:30am)

Saturday May 21, 2016

Sunday, May 22, 2016

Trinity Sunday

First Reading: Proverbs 8. 22-31

Responsorial Psalm:  Psalm 8

Second Reading: Romans 5. 1-5

Gospel Acclamation: see Missal

Gospel: John 16. 12-15

David Perry

Saturday, May 28, 2016

Sunday, May 29, 2016

Body and Blood of Christ

First Reading: Genesis 14. 18-20

Responsorial Psalm:  Psalm 110

Second Reading: 1 Corinthians 11. 23-26

Gospel Acclamation: John 6. 51

Gospel: Luke 9. 11b-17

Mike Britton